Poets logo

I’m Drowning

He rescues me

By Linda BromleyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
I’m Drowning
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

I’m drowning

Not figuratively

But really…

The water covers me

I kick my legs

Yet nothing works

I keep sinking

Very soon

I’ll be out of air

My feet touch rock

And it releases

Something inside

I can move now

I bend my legs

Arms forward

With renewed hope

I spring upward

And as I do

I begin to see light

In the murky depths

It brightens

The higher I go

Only one spot

On the surface

Shines like diamonds

And I aim for it

I burst thru

Breaking the facade

The humanness

The sinful

I look up

Gasping for air

And the hand

That takes mine

Moves as it

Pulls me

To safety

It’s the only

Air I need

I breathe deeply

And can finally

See the face

That rescued me

Jesus, my Lord

inspirational

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Linda BromleyWritten by Linda Bromley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.