Poets logo

I'm dreading it

You would too.

By Thavien YliasterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
I'm dreading it
Photo by Dorrell Tibbs on Unsplash

I don't know how to complete my article.

I don't know how to complete this story.

I know that I was two versions.

One legnthy, and one short, so don't worry.

I don't know how to start this article.

I've already made a two separate beginnings.

I'm confused on my own formatting.

This self-defeat isn't getting me closer to winning.

I'm tired of writing this article.

I've put in hours of research and typing.

I've had some time to work on it.

Yet, the work has sucked out the joy of overhyping.

I no longer want to write this article.

So, I escape to social media.

Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and even here.

Hell, this poem's an escape too.

That's right, escapism comes in all forms from all things.

It's what it do.

I'm tired of typing this article.

I've been tired of it from the beginning.

I wanted to speak my peace and be done.

Yet, my eyes, head, and tongue are now spinning.

I've talked with my friends about this article.

Even with a friendly man at the bookstore too.

He likes the topic and effort behind it,

so it looks like I have to strap on my work shoes.

I'm tired of writing this article.

I have other things I want to write.

Yet, I feel that this is more important.

I have to complete it, to make things right.

I'm tired of writing this article.

So, let's get underway.

I need to power through,

and make the formatting clear as day.

So, I'll go and write my article.

Let's hope it gets posted soon.

Let's go and write this article.

Then do what else I want to do.

inspirational

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Spot on!!! This totally landed for me. "I'm tired of writing this article. I've put in hours of research and typing. I've had some time to work on it. Yet, the work has sucked out the joy of overhyping. I no longer want to write this article. So, I escape to social media."

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Ha, I know this feeling well. You crafted this so nicely; it captures the feelings perfectly. "I don't know how to start this article. I've already made a two separate beginnings. I'm confused on my own formatting. This self-defeat isn't getting me closer to winning." LOL. I feel the same damn way, even if winning is just being able to say it's done and to hit the publish button. I hope you got to finish that article! Which one is it? I want to see.

  • Emma Kate Coleman12 months ago

    I feel this way regularly as a member of the press. Thank you for putting the feeling to text with such authenticity and grace. 🙏

  • This was soooo relatable! I've felt like this wayyyy too many times!

  • Did you get it written? Doesn't really matter. This one's enough to last me a lifetime, lol.

  • Ha! Writing mirrors life in so many ways. The grass is always greener on the other side. I am usually more enthusiastic about the project I don't HAVE to do, or the one I am just beginning. Once my enthusiasm wanes, that "fun" project becomes a lot more effort -- and a lot less fun. However, it is that sense of completion that keeps me driving on. This one is the "true article". Well done, my new friend!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Yes. This is about as real and relatable as is gets. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    I felt this so much! Very relatable and heartfelt

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Sometimes you just gotta get it done!! You are sooo much closer!! Also, just loved how this could relate to so many things :)

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Relatable!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

Thavien YliasterWritten by Thavien Yliaster

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.