Poets logo

I Loved You

at first sight.

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
I Loved You
Photo by Luke Southern on Unsplash

The sweetness lingers

in everyone's mind

who's soul has been kissed

by love at first sight.

******

The roller rink

was full of souls

rejoicing in the fun

I saw you sitting on a pool table.

******

I can still see you

forty years later

glowing in my mind's eye

unknown to you.

******

Out on the skating floor

You didn't see

me twist and turn

trying to get your attention.

******

Rest breaks are needed

gathering with friends

they see the glitter

in my eyes.

******

teenaged giggles

teenaged Shenanigans

plotting friends

set us up.

******

One tiny piece

of a white napkin

was placed

on your head.

******

Stealthy moves

spidy senses running wild

I carefully planned

to remove the white intruder.

*****

One darn strain of hair

caught underneath

my fingernail

when I lifted the paper.

******

You turned

our eyes met

my guilt of their shenanigan's

explained in five seconds.

******

Your eyes

Your smile

Your thank you

cemented you in my heart.

******

I see you

today

I still feel the love

but changes in me were too great.

******

When I see

you

your name

I will always send love to you.

******

Sometimes,

soulmates

are better off friends

and not lovers.

*****

The memories

of us skating

together

will always be a happy thought for me.

******

I will always

have you

In my heart

and in my soul.

******

Go forth my love

my first love

for the knowing to

believe in love at first sight could happen again.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Nice❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.