Poets logo

I Loved You Most in The World

A Poem

By Reija SillanpaaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Loved You Most in The World
Photo by BRUNO EMMANUELLE on Unsplash

When I was twelve, the phenomenon known as New Kids on The Block entered my life.

I fell madly in love with Joey - who was only thirteen when he joined the group and could have so easily been my boyfriend.

- - -

I will always remember the day

When your voice blew me away

And when you appeared on my TV

I knew you were meant to be with me

You were the youngest and the cutest

In my dreams, I build our future nest

It didn’t matter you were thousands of miles away

Because I knew true love would always find a way

Your pictures covered every inch of my walls

In my dreams I answered your phone calls

Where you told me how much loved me

And how wonderful our life together would be

Each night I kissed your picture and dreamt

That all the sweet words you sang were meant

Only for me, that I was your sweetheart

And once together, we would never part

When you sang, tell me you’ll stay

I promised I’d never go away

That I would always be your girl

I loved you most in the world

But my crush was not meant to last

Before I knew it, you were in my past

Instead, I gave my heart

To someone real who tore it apart

If only real lovers could have been

As sweet and kind as you were in my dreams

I would not have given my heart away in vain

And would have saved myself from a lot of pain

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reija Sillanpaa

A wise person said, "Be your own audience". Therefore, I write fiction, poetry and about matters important and interesting to me. That said, I warmly welcome you into my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.