Poets logo

I Love You

A Few Within Many, Not All But Any

By Chelsea AdlerPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Power is a fickle thing

It gravitates and swings

Always towards the louder voice

It is unattached, unbiased, and could care less about how you feel

We are taking it

And we’ll be damned if you think you’re louder now

Maybe not all men but any

Feel entitled to our bodies because they call them pretty

You ask us to spread for you and then call us whores when we choose to do so

Ugly and unlovable when we won’t

You put your hands where they don’t belong

You take without asking

And then cry “double standards” when we slam your hand as

It digs around the cookie jar that you refuse to refill

We are raped and we are killed

We are regulated and legislated

And then accused of the crime

You ask for lace and chiffon

Then choke us with it when we choose to put it on

You expect a place within the spaces of our bodies

That you can’t be bothered to learn

We are not your equal

But

Neither are you ours

You exist because we’ve made you

And that has you scared

We give you life

So you insist on controlling our own

But it’s time to wake up

Good morning, beautiful man, we are here

We are the witches you couldn’t burn

The bitches you couldn’t hang

The hags you couldn’t kill

We carry spells in our pockets and knives in our rings

We’ve grown a penchant for making weapons out of cute little things

Like the blame that you throw at us

And the steaks that you tie us to

You approach us with torches to set us ablaze

But we’ve come to return the favor with a smoldering smile

And a sparkling wave

We are the queens you couldn’t behead

And the mothers you’d leave for dead

We are the banshees that will be screaming your names for decades to come

Until you close your eyes for that final sleep

For when they open again you will find that God is not a man

Not even a she

But God is the love that you couldn’t find within yourself

To bestow upon your fellow human

Simply because of the anatomy between her legs

And you did not carry enough of it in you to see beyond your own ego

To open your eyes and your heart to see that we do not need you

If you are near us it is only because we want you near

We are no longer a thing that you own but a company you earn

And we aren’t worried, if you want to earn it, you will.

And if you don’t, well my love

Welcome to your incel chapter

It’s words are dictated by women who have embraced their inner villain

You may try to cut our wings but that’s okay

Because they grow back bigger and they come with fire on our breath

And vipers on our head

If you hear anything hear this

I love you.

I do not want to stand above you, or in front of you

And most definitely not behind you or below you

But I will stand with you

Next to you

I will worship you and meet your every need

I will burn the world and grant your wishes

I will hold your hand proud to the universe

And stay humble only to you

Because you are my man and I am your woman

I will keep the crown straight upon your head and I will do it with joy

But I will just as quickly knock it down if you ask me to wear a smaller one

You want to provide for me

Go ahead

You want to protect me

Go ahead

You want to be the only one I allow to throw me down and pull my hair and tell me I’m a good girl

Go ahead

You want to make me feel safe and beautiful and wild

Free to be my best and my worst all at once

Go ahead

But don’t for one second hold it over me

Don’t ever allow yourself to forget that

I don’t need you for any of it

Don’t ever allow yourself to forget that

You are only capable of giving me the world

Because I have found you worthy of holding it

I love you.

But more than I love you,

I let you.

inspirationalsocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea Adler

Obsessed with fashion. Obsessed with dark history. Even more obsessed with escapism through a good story whether it's reading or writing one. Spice is a plus. This page is a combination of all of that. Enjoy 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.