Poets logo

I love

To a lost crush.

By Dailyn TownesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
I love
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

I love you—such a simple statement with such a significant impact. We say things like, I love you to the moon and back. Why? Well, for me, I really feel like I mean what I say. Not because it's who I am, but who has redeemed my aches.

I cared about the shared moments we had. Your transparency moved me to areas of my life that I left in the past.

Why can't you see that I care for who you are, not who you ought to be. I'm tired of seeing society in me. Where love is based on circumstances and self-owned reflections.

I genuinely don't want you to be hurt again, I know I'm not perfect, but I don't understand why someone wouldn't want to be your man.

I have my flaws, but don't we all? You've told me about your past relationships, and how it's hurt you, then I realize your past cries never broke you.

Maybe for a season, but there is always a reason. I don't know what those reasons may be, but it has made you more vital than the person I'd be.

You've experienced much more than I ever had, yet this heart enjoyed the shared laughs.

I would never put you in harm's way; even if I did, I would never let you experience that way. It's hard for me to say, but I want you to stay.

You asked me why I liked you so much, and on that day, my answer wasn't too clear. I couldn't gather the words to tell you where my heart stirred. I was like a deer in the headlights of life where I couldn't even form a sentence right.

I think you're as beautiful today as you were yesterday. I believe that you deserve a guy who will treat you right for the rest of your life. I think you deserve only the absolute best and a guy who chooses you with no regrets. I believe that he should respect you and your thoughts, so he won't think of you as an afterthought. He should examine his own heart because if he doesn't bear any fruit, is it worth the cost?

I'm not saying I'm the perfect guy, but what I am saying is, at least I'd try.

I'd try to show you the real meaning of love, not this one-night stance stuff. Where someone can love you to a certain extent only to get in your pants.

• Such a sad thing to see when nobody wants intimacy. No one wants to develop a closeness with someone who has experienced brokenness.

• No one wants to cry in a generation of lies and broken lives.

• No one wants to love in this generation of lust and soul ties.

• Heck, no one even bats an eye unless it's seeking pleasure or desire.

• I don't want that for you, but it's not my decision to come to. Maybe it's just that I might not be the one for you.

• Whatever it may be, I just hope you don't see my past life in me.

• My life before Christ, I was literally such a mess. Basically, everything that was previously stated applied to my life wreck.

• But how was I supposed to know society lied to me?

• How was I supposed to know what love meant to me as a kid?

• I was taught through celebrities that having intimacy was the same as sex.

• Oh, how this world lied to me, didn't understand the difference until Christ found me.

• Now he's changed my heart of stone to a heart of flesh, made his presence known to my recklessness.

• Given me a second chance to do things right, hopefully, blessed enough to show you the best.

• Shelbi, I don't really know how to express this other than showing it to you through my actions.

• I just hope you've seen His evidence in my life above all else. I'm glad we could spend quality time together, but maybe it's best to give it a rest.

• You're focusing on your career right now, so go out and do your best. And when you succeed as I know you will, maybe you'll settle for real. And not that I'm asking will it be me, cause that's not a choice for me to make; I just hope on that day that he treats you with nothing but the best.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Dailyn Townes

| Writer | Sneaker Designer | Intellectual Ambivert | Book Fanatic | Ever-growing |

Every person has a story to share and a life to live, but how we live matters just as much as what we're living for; who or what is driving you?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Whew, your poetry cuts me deep 😭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.