Poets logo

I Lost You

My fear overpowered your love

By B. NoellePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Staring off into the distance

I remember how you used to hold me

The way you smiled made me blush

And filled me with fear of losing you

I never envisioned a future with you in it

Instead I imagined how we fell apart

How you broke my heart

So I picked and found ways to push you away

I was so afraid of losing you that I left you first

I saw your smile fade from my life

Your arms no longer warmed me in the cold

Every night I cried and prayed you'd come back

Tears that reverberated in the silence

You fought to keep me, but I said no

I'm tortured by my response to your love

Realizing I designed my loneliness

Leaves me only feeling more lonely.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.