Poets logo

I Lost a Word

Did You Type It

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

I lost a word

perhaps there were two

If I find the first

I may find the second too

The problem is

I don’t know which word or words I lost

I can’t even ask which word or words

I don’t know it or them

What do I do

Is it really lost

I’m sure it was good

Now I’m sure

there was only one

I lost one single word

I just know it

It’s hard to explain

It’s somewhere special in my head

Some think it’s a tumour of some kind

The size of a peanut

I think the word I lost is there

trapped among clones

who have lost to the dark side of life

Do we really want to know everything

I’m already terrified of everything I’ve learned

I wish I was a woman in a world without men

except for one

but Hitchens is already dead

All the good ones are dead

Many are even forgotten

as if they were never born

We were never born

Yet we are here

breathing

smiling

realising

slowly

the

lost

word

is

love

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.