Poets logo

I long to know

Love poem

By Lenita LeiPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
2
I long to know
Photo by Nadine Shaabana on Unsplash

The day begins,

I see you there.

Your face radiates as I enter the room.

I speak about you in my prayer.

I long to know.

Days turn and pass,

Finally, I see you there.

The one day of the week I get to see you.

Hug and hold me, tell me what we share.

Yet I long to know.

Some days turn frosty,

I see you there.

Yet only through the code and screen.

The tone beeps, I long for your touch - not this device's glare.

Oh, how I long to know.

Rising over defeat,

I see you there.

Run to you and hold you in my sweet embrace.

I love how you care.

Yet, I still long to know.

We’ve traveled quite far now.

I see you there.

We’ll always be friends you say.

The words eat me creating quite the scare.

Is this the best you can let me know?

Time heals all wounds they say.

I’m glad I still see you there.

From hurt to happy, you’ve been with me in it all.

But I’m not looking for an affair.

I long to know.

The weeks turned to years.

I see you there.

I want to ask and say and talk.

Yet my body holts saying: Beware!

But I long to know!

Your hand glides down my body.

I feel you there.

The heat of your lips upon my neck.

We are a duo, a great pair.

Yet I still long to know.

Your body language says it all, it cannot hide.

I see you there.

A longing and a knowing I see it all there.

Or perhaps I am in despair,

Or your mind is elsewhere?

Thing is, I really need to know.

A moment arises, I seek, I ask.

I see you there.

Time pauses, it stops.

I’ve entered the nightmare.

I shouldn’t have asked. Yet I needed to know.

Finally you speak.

You see me there.

You know what I’ve always known.

You say, I don’t know what to do, so I keep it in the air.

Please know I truly care.

At least now I know.

love poemsFor Funart
2

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    This seemed very lyrical and I sang it to my own tune! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Beautifully written & love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.