Poets logo

I'll Find My Way Home

A Poem by Patrick Poulin

By Patrick PoulinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are clouds in the sky,

I can’t find the Sun,

I lost you.

But I’m on my way,

I’ll find my way home,

I promise you.

I lost you.

I’m so sorry.

I miss you.

It’s been an eternity.

How have you been?

I haven’t seen these mountains before,

Where have I been?

It’s been years since we laughed on the floor.

I’ve met new people,

I’ve become a new me.

It’s been a while, I miss you.

Do you miss me?

I’ll come home, I promise,

I just need some time.

I love you, I promise,

Your heart still fills mine.

I’ll come home, I promise,

I just need some time.

I love you, I promise,

It’s just so hard to rhyme.

I need to go watch the clouds,

I need to go get some air.

I need to go watch my tears,

To know why I care.

The sky is so blue,

The sky is so red.

Just know I miss you,

Though it seems that we’re dead.

We used to be soulmates,

We used to be forever.

Will I come home tomorrow,

Will I come home ever?

I know that I left you,

I know that it’s hard.

I know that I lost you,

I dealt my own cards.

What happened?

Where did I go?

What happened?

Where will I go?

I’ll trek through the mountains,

I’ll trek through the sea.

I’ll see all the stars,

So I can see all of me.

Where am I?

How did I get here?

I’m sorry I couldn’t make it.

I’ll come say hi next year.

A storm is raging,

Up there in those clouds.

Am I aging?

Has it been that long?

The world I came to see,

Is at the brink of apocalypse.

My exploration will leave me empty,

But at least I will see it.

All I can do is see.

I’m never coming home.

I feel at home.

I’m so sorry.

How long has it been,

Since I last felt your kiss?

Oh, how I fall,

Into that beautiful abyss.

Do I even want to come back home?

Do I even want a home at all?

Am I on my way home to you?

Or am I headed far away?

Am I lonely?

Do I know what I want?

Maybe I’ll find home in the stars,

Maybe I’ll find home in the lights,

Maybe I’ll find home where you are,

Maybe I’m all alone at night.

Remember when we’d hide away together?

Remember when we’d come home to one another?

We grew up now,

We need to take our lives seriously.

Don’t grow up now,

Can’t you come home to me?

I can’t grow up,

I’m sorry.

I’m still trying to see the mountains.

I’m still trying to see the Sun.

But maybe I never will.

Home is a place where you can kick off your socks,

And sleep in that ugly shirt.

Home is a place where all the noise stops.

You aren’t missing home, are you?

Trees rush by in a blur,

The world shifts beneath my feet.

I’m looking everywhere for home,

I’ll chase it to the ends of the Earth,

I’ll run from you.

Is home in my words?

Is home in my images?

Is home in the sounds?

Is home in the skylines?

Is home in their arms?

Is home in my laughter?

Is home in my tears?

I lay in bed for hours,

Homesick.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Poulin

I am a young writer, actor and filmmaker based in Montreal. I am passionate about art and storytelling. I am a student at McGill University in the Bachelor of Arts program with a major in Literature.

They/Them

instagram: patrick_poulin2001

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.