Poets logo

i like poetry

But....

By E.AmaliaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
i like poetry
Photo by Amaury Gutierrez on Unsplash

I like poetry.

Sometimes my tears taste like salt, you see.

Do they always taste like that?

Do tears of joy taste like cotton candy?

Tears of despair, do they taste like the bitter wound within?

By Danie Franco on Unsplash

I like poetry.

But sometimes, I refuse to rhyme.

I’m sick of the rules which means that I may not clap in time.

I’m tired of the quickened beats that mean I cannot take a seat.

I’m a hardened criminal.

Born to break every rule.

By Andrew Neel on Unsplash

But…

I like poetry.

I like the way you tell me your heartbreak story.

In one page or less...

I’ve laughed, cried and held onto your glory.

Woop! Woop!

You did it. You turned her into a story.

Isn’t that always the way to write her out of your heart, move on...

no more worry?

By Raphael Renter on Unsplash

Yes, I like poetry.

Capsized ships become wholehearted mansions.

Waves and sunsets become the class cliches.

Dancers are always sad or giddy.

It’s true we have to use some sort of creativity.

The blank page ain’t gonna write its own sachet expansions.

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Poetry. Do you like me?

Only when I’m on the perfect line?

Do you like when I cannot rhyme?

Do you like me when my stanzas don’t match?

Do you like me when the rhythm doesn’t catch?

By Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Poetry, my sweetie.

Is there ever a time when someone didn’t say “What?”

Was there ever a moment when the awe just sat?

Was there ever a time a friend didn’t snap in response to your self-introduction?

By R Mo on Unsplash

Too many words?

Not enough diversification?

Spelling is a problem.

Don’t worry. This isn’t multiplication.

Stop doing it like that.

Don’t tell it that way.

O Poetry, do you like me too?

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I like poetry.

But…

I’m afraid I can’t please everybody.

Sometimes we relate, and other times we hesitate.

I just don’t get it.

Neither do I.

Do your tears taste like salt too?

Even the tears of joy?

Give it a shot.

Go on.

I like poetry.

But…

But you, maybe not?

By Chris on Unsplash

performance poetryslam poetryhumor
2

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    Poetry Rule breakers are in danger...of stealing my heart forever. *Swoon* Double snaps to ALL that!

  • I'm afraid I can't please everybody. I loved that line so much! Amazing poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.