Poets logo

I know…

a poem

By Maegan BeanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I know that you

Don't know

Me.

Not in any real way.

How could you?

Being rapt

As you are

In your own reality

In your own perceived

And cultivated Hells.

I know that you

Thought you understood.

But how could you?

Being convinced

as you are

Of your own righteousness

Your perceptiveness

Your closeness to me.

But closeness can not

Equal knowledge

If it is not paired with

Compassion

Bolstered by respect

And met with acceptance.

I know that you

Tried

To love the version of me

That you saw

The one you made up.

But how could you

Love her?

She is not real.

She is not the woman

You married

The woman who loved you.

Those two are at odds.

Always fighting for purchase

In your mind

And heart.

You cannot love either

While one remains unknown

And one lives only

In your imagination.

So you end up hating us both.

I know that you

Wanted this.

Wanted me.

Wanted us.

You wanted to give me everyTHING...

Except, what I wanted

Was you.

I wanted you

To see me

To hear me

To KNOW me

And to steeill want me.

I wanted you

To stop asking for things

That I could not give

And for you to take

All of what I offered.

I wanted an equal

A partner

A friend.

I know that you

Are sad to see me go.

I hear that you

Want to do better

And I wish you luck

And love

And all the best.

I want to see you

get happy again.

It's been a while.

I want you to grow

Into the person I wanted,

And more!

Much more than I could have

Hoped for you.

I want this for you

But I can't make it happen

I can't manifest

Your destiny.

I can't MAKE

You...anything.

I know that you

Are sorry.

I know that you are sorry

For the hurt

And the heartache

And the fights that were had

And (even worse) the fights

That should have been.

I know that you feel it.

I know that you're sorry

And so am I.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.