Poets logo

I just wanted to kiss the Sun

and Venus was encouraging me so!

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
9
I just wanted to kiss the Sun
Photo by Juri Noga on Unsplash

Enchanted by your light, your warmth, your smile, I

Climbed and climbed as far as I could climb,

Looking down I saw I'd climbed too high, but

I only wanted to kiss the Sun!

People always told me I was never good enough, you see, but the

Sun beckoned, and encouraged by Venus I climbed and I was there

Exactly for four and a half minutes, me, kissing the Sun

~*~

Thank you for reading my poem. I was inspired by this picture of the eclipse and Venus my dad took on his phone at the Sierra Madre. Over the pang of jealousy, I felt genuine joy at knowing that many of my family members were able to meet there for the eclipse!

If you liked my work, a comment, heart or insight would be much appreciated. A tip would be welcome, too, if you feel so inclined.

Eclipse and Venus by Jorge Tena Flores

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFree VerseAcrostic
9

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm12 days ago

    Kissing the sun - This made me feel all warm and cosy Sandra. ☺️👏 Excellent tone and entry.

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • That is a beautiful and amazing photo your dad took. I love it. What a fantastic acrostic you wrote to reflect the emotions you received from your dad's photo. I love the whole fantasy of climbing and climbing to kiss the sun. That is so wonderful and so symbolic. That's what I love about writing we can do anything we want and be whoever we want to be.

  • Oh wow, that photo is so gorgeous! Loved your Acrostic as well. It was so optimistic and uplifting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.