Poets logo

I Just Remembered Something

A ferruginous pygmy-owl looks inward

By Amethyst QuPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ferruginous Pygmy-Owl photo by the Author / Mexico, 2016

Poet's note: I have many stories I could share about watching and listening to Ferruginous Pygmy-Owls, beautiful and often confiding small owls with a persistent song. In some parts of Mexico, they are easily found, heard, and photographed, and that's where I nabbed this shot in November 2016. The expression on the bird's face has inspired me.

Wait

I just thought of something

Did I leave the stove on?

Did I kiss the kids before I headed out?

Becky didn't finish that mouse, why didn't I go back and make sure she finished that mouse?

Also I left some pellets under the nest

Pretty sure I did

What if that stupid orange cat finds them and tries to climb the tree?

Laura will take care of it, she always does

But she'll be mad I didn't pick them up

No, wait

Maybe I already did

Maybe I remember now

Or that science-y guy, he picked them up with his tongs and gloves to put them in a baggie

What's that guy want with our pellets anyway?

Are we sure we know what science is?

I bet he's making money off it somehow

Non-profit grad student living in a backpack, my cute little tail

I bet that's just the cover story

Wait a minute now

I just thought of something else

Didn't those guys used to collect birds?

Big money in it I heard

Maybe I should head back?

Oh, for Pete's sake, what the heck's that I hear now?

I know what it is, don't tell me

It's that Darryl singing over there

Heck's he doing, singing that close to my property?

What if he's been creeping around the wife while I'm out here on the job?

Man, life is not easy

And also I'm pretty sure I left the stove on

and forgot to pick up the pellets

If you enjoyed this little poem, I'd be thrilled if you gently tapped the <3 button. Tips gratefully accepted. Another surreal/funny poem I wrote can be found here: Three Cactus Pots On a Purple Wall.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Qu

Seeker, traveler, birder, crystal collector, photographer. I sometimes visit the mysterious side of life. Author of "The Moldavite Message" and "Crystal Magick, Meditation, and Manifestation."

https://linktr.ee/amethystqu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.