Poets logo

I hope you never have to share your favorite songs with the wrong person ever again.

Because before I met you, I wouldn't

By TessPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
I hope you never have to share your favorite songs with the wrong person ever again.
Photo by Travis Yewell on Unsplash

I hope you never have to share your favorite songs with the wrong person ever again.

Because before I met you, I wouldn’t add them on playlists I made for others, for the sake of being scared they’d cause panic attacks like the songs and lovers before you did.

Instead I hope you get to have dance parties to them, ride with your windows down at 3 AM, driving nowhere with the music blasting, kiss in the kitchen to them, & think about their stolen side eye glances when you’re apart & the song comes on, hiding the smirk in public you always get.

I hope you never feel that pang again when they come on,

And those favorite songs you conditioned yourself to stop triggering having panic attacks to

Make your heart swell with the most pride,

As you look at the person you share it with now,

And they make you forget all about hiding your favorite songs.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tess

Embracing the possibility of abundant joy. Writer, traveler, avid coffee drinker, and cinephile.

Bachelor's Degree in Film, with a concentration in screenwriting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.