Poets logo

I Hope It’s Not Just Me

A vulnerable poem

By Chloë J.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
I Hope It’s Not Just Me
Photo by yulia pantiukhina on Unsplash

Just give me a second

To come up with something clever,

I’ll respond to your joke

I swear; I’m just feeling some pressure.

Just give me a minute

To remember what I practiced,

Standing in the mirror

My wit was easier expressed.

Please, just one more second

‘Cause it’s almost close to perfect,

My tongue trips and stumbles

I don’t want to lose your respect.

I squeak out some nonsense

Through the words I quickly sped,

But what I said out loud

Was so much better in my head.

Someone better makes a jest

My small quip, lost in the crowd,

All move on, still laughing,

I’m wishing I was not so proud.

I can’t hold interest long,

I fear; I see it happen oft.

Draining from their face, as

Quicker wisecracks rise aloft

I’ll have you in stitches,

Let me write some options down;

I’m better on paper

Or with friends I’m oft-around.

Just give me a second

To be jealous of your glibness,

To curse my ineptitude

And hope not too many witnessed.

I never left high school,

Not a single thing has changed;

Still a wallflower, who

For lack of graces, sounds deranged.

I wasted all those minutes

That I practiced in the mirror,

They fail me in the moment,

Make my thought process less clear.

I’ll be ready next time,

To fence with verbal sabres,

Maybe one day I’ll try

Being me and not my neighbors.

fact or fictionsocial commentary

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloë J.Written by Chloë J.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.