Poets logo

I Haven’t Showered In Days

Depression

By Ingrid HoyosPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
I Haven’t Showered In Days
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

It starts with a thought that’s so hard to believe

But if I can’t explain it, it has to be me

It digs in my soil and it grows like the weeds

Now my house is condemned by a silent disease

The walls nearly cave as the night turns to day

And I haven’t slept, I haven’t showered in days

Asking myself why the sun went away

But if I can’t explain it, I must be to blame

You wouldn’t believe all the things I believe

Below there’s a rock and below that there’s me

Under the asphalt like roots from a tree

My heart is crushed and it’s so hard to breathe

I pull myself out of this bed that I’ve made

But my spirit’s still there and it’s cold like the rain

I want to own all of the choices I’ve made

But I’m so ashamed, I haven’t showered in days

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Ingrid Hoyos

Former journalist. Freelance writer. Perpetually curious. Painfully creative. Poetry is my outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    There's poetry in this depression!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.