Poets logo

I Found You

Jasmine Snyder

By Jasmine Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2021
42

The world I lived in was void of color.

The days were bland and empty.

Everything was in shades of black and grey.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color red.

You were angry and radiant. You had passion in your words. You needed to be heard.

A fire ignited within.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color orange.

Those angry words turned into assertions and you expressed yourself in your clothing and appearance.

Creativity and experimentation seemed to drive you towards an invisible goal much quicker.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color yellow.

You were smiling and there were others just as vibrant surrounding you.

It had been so long since I heard you carefreely laugh.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color green.

You were growing, thriving. You were becoming something familiar that had been locked away.

Was that hope I saw?

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color blue.

You seemed calm and collected, but there was streaks on your face reminiscent of tears that had been shed.

You had become you, but it was not the you that had been known.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color indigo.

Your presence was to be known, you were confident.

You had let go of the darkness and create color around you.

Then one day I saw you.

You were the color violet.

You were filled with love not only towards others but yourself. You loved you.

You had finally accepted your true self and was ready to share it with the world.

Then one day I saw you.

A rainbow.

You were looking back at me in the reflection of the mirror. The world was no longer shades of black and grey.

The world was now a rainbow of colors and you are living.

love poems
42

About the Creator

Jasmine

A free-lance writer who wants to share with the world experiences shown with their perspective on trauma, being a part of the LGBTQA+ community, being a parent and life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.