Poets logo

I followed my heart and found you

a piece from my past (written January 2016)

By ForbsiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
I followed my heart and found you
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

a jouney of a thousand steps

i took the first one walking away

from everything i knew

everything familiar

everything i thought i wanted

everything others said i should want

stepped into the unknown

looking without expectation

looking without knowing

what i might find

would it be better?

or worse?

as long as it was different

than what i left behind

it's a step forward

a step outside my comfort zone

and into where the magic happens

logic took the back seat

and my heart took over

no direction in mind

just following feeling

making decisions based on what feels right

no more just going with the flow

no more following the path of least resistance

instead

i'm pulling out the machete

and hacking out my own path

creating

exploring

searching

not for anything specific

finding the unexpected

but welcome

finding myself

reconnecting

reuniting

opening doors i long forgot

looking through windows

and finding a familiar smile

finding a key to unlock the lost and forgotten parts of me

finding you

waiting

watching

welcoming me home

with open arms

and an open heart

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Forbsie

Forever student of life. I love to learn and am always up for exploring. I use breath and yoga to explore my inner world and get to know myself as deeply as I can. I use writing to share a glimpse of my world with you. I hope you enjoy it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.