Poets logo

I Dreamt You Were a Poem

A Poem I Wanted to Show Someone...

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I dreamt you were a poem,

A poem I wanted to show someone...

Show it as a trophy

An award

Praise it like

A beautiful Cadillac

An expensive diamond

A rare jewel to be found in the depths

of the Baltic Sea.

I dreamt you were a masterpiece.

Standing inside an honored exhibition.

A display sat in the center,

Presenting

your eyes

your lips

your flaws

your face

every detail of you marked on walls,

an exhibition

named after you

and praised from all.

Then I woke up,

In cold sweat

Wondering where you were

Wondering where my glorified poem has gone.

But all I could see in the place of gold

Was a dull, rigged stone sleeping

Next to me

Breathing in staggered breaths

Wishing he was next to his poem.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.