Poets logo

I Dream Of You

If Tomorrow Never Comes

By Sarah Faith EthridgePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo Credit: Tomáš Hustoles via Burst

Fresh baked and basted bread awaits your morning gaze

Peace of mind as I spread cream cheese on top of each piece.

I sip on coffee while I wait for you, and give a prayer in thanks.

I watch the steam rise from my cup, it touches my nose, as I recall your warm voice,

No night would be complete without hearing your words.

You are in the kitchen and I turn to greet you, walk towards me

You hold me as if I am a warm blanket, just pulled from the dryer,

I feel you breathe in my scent and the layers of our love

as you wrap your arms around my waist, you move strands

of my hair while you whisper “Good morning,” in my ear.

The room smells of cinnamon and a fire burning bright

From a candle that remains lit by my side throughout the night,

Your words are like raindrops caught by my tongue

I jump into water to feel caught by the air, after the jump

I feel lifted to breathe, and fill my lungs again.

To listen to you as you hold me in your arms is to

Wrap myself into a towel after a warm shower, and feel

Your hands combing through my hair until I wake once more

To meet your smile with mine and catch your eyes looking through mine

To dive into the view of the world around us, summed up through the journeys we've seen.

A state of complete belonging.

Serenity is a moment to last forever.

love poemssurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Sarah Faith Ethridge

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Sarah. I enjoy writing as much as I love to sing. I am also a gaming enthusiast and stream live content like cooking, or whatever project I'm working on at the time! CLICK HERE! Hope to see you there!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.