Poets logo

I Dove

and Dove Again

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 3 years ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
6

I dove.

I dove again.

And again.

And again.

I could not leave you where they left you.

Your soul struggling for salvation

Deep in those dark, unholy, black waters

So close to hell. So close to hell.

Your body bloating and disintegrating

Into the louring seabed below.

I dove and dove, reaching and grasping to find you.

Until my hands finally touched your skin.

And I brought you home.

I dove.

I dove again.

And again.

And again.

My strong, calloused hands found and brought you home.

The life and love gone from your amber eyes

The eyes I lovingly and passionately dove into every night.

Seaweed all tangled up in your golden red hair.

Your lips once warm and moist with honey

Were now cold, blue, and briny from the sea.

I lifted you up and carried you back home.

Back home hidden deep in the dark recesses

Of the sanctified holy ground

They tried to deny you because of our sin.

I dove.

I dove again.

And again.

And again.

My mother’s childhood rosary beads

Wrapped and entwined in your fingers.

Your body wrapped in the blanket we loved so hard beneath

I prayed and covered you with the sacred promise of love.

As I dove into the hot lava river of grief

Disguised as a small glass flask in my back pocket.

I deeply gulped and sank into its smoky oblivion

Knowing it was all that would sustain my soul

Until God brings us back together again.

I dove.

I dove again.

And again.

And again.

And again.

-- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

love poems
6

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.