Poets logo

I Don't Want To Be Like Cinderella

A NotLikeCinderella Production

By Shaye B.Published 2 years ago โ€ข 1 min read
I Don't Want To Be Like Cinderella
Photo by Felicity Lynn on Unsplash

This is a PSA from NotLikeCinderella incorporated

HELP!

I am now a willing victim ensnared in a love trap

Love does not exist

This mantra I live by

And yet somehow I've been captured

Falling prey to his mesmerizing light brown almost hazel eyes

Ugh!

Ladies (and some gents) he has come equipped to intimidate

Arms like pythons

Calves like stones

And his torso ladies and gentlemen

Like God carved it with a toothpick himself

Just because he had the time

He. Looks. Good

But that does not change facts

Love does not exist

No matter how deep his hands plunge into my soul

No matter how many times he swirls his fingers to taste my essence

No matter how smooth his words feel against my lips

Or how gently his sweet nothings caress my skin

Or how tightly he holds me in his arms

It's the safest place in the world to me

Is it the safest place in the world?

Is there a safe place in the world with him?

Can it exist?

Cab we be mutually exclusively beneficially in love?

OH, that the Stockholm syndrome talking

People

He's suffocating me

His promises filling my lungs

I'm suffocating with hope

Hanging on his every word

Could this be real?

No!

Because altruism isn't a thing

Because he must want something right?

And not my heart

Because who wants that tattered bruised organ

And my soul

He'll have to take an IOU

Because I will bargain with Satan himself

To avoid feeling the way I do

Love does not exist

And I have the scars to prove it

But this man

This sadist

Has revived parts of me I thought were dead

Just to crush them again

He'll only hurt me

Love does not exist

Even if he does listen to me

And likes when I ramble

And offers utter protection

And unyielding affection

Oh more Stockholms'

And these are all just actions

Cause love does not exist

Right?

heartbreaklove poemsperformance poetryslam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Shaye B.

Welcome to my trainwreck. I'm Shaye B and I'm pleased to make your aquaintence. I learned to read before I could talk and learned to write because I couldn't scream. I haven't quite learned to scream yet so I'll continue to write until then

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shaye B.Written by Shaye B.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.