Poets logo

I don’t understand

This pain

By Vicious AvaricePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1

I don’t understand this

The memory of you has faded

Like a grand sand castle on the beach

It took time, but really not all that much

The positive qualities of you

Are so vague to recall

That I never grasp more than a handful

And even then, they return inconsistently

The negative parts

They don’t help me to distance

They have no weight to them

And simply float away

You look haggard now to gaze upon

Beauty lost in the truth laid bare

Hiding in the lies I told myself

The lies which were ripped from me

So why at night are my dreams full of you

Why does my heart ache in every silent moment

When I never consciously think of you

When nothing about you is tangible anymore

Why am I in so much pain?

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
1

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so heartbreaking and relatable! Loved your poignant poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.