Poets logo

i don’t think you see me

Lying here soul bared…

By Joann ClaudePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
i don’t think you see me
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

When I’m lying right beside you

And you’re holding my legs

So close to your chest

And the silent tears

Run down on your pillow

When you turn on the TV

And watch this comedian

Who thinks what happened

to me

Is a joke

And you laugh

When I get in the shower

That you never bought a curtain for

And the weight of the water

Makes it unbearable to stand-

Pointless to shampoo

When I take off my shirt

And the lines on my tummy

Reveal themselves

You’d rather work around them

Then tend to the scars

When I tell you

It is actually not fine

I know what comes next

And I beg you to listen

But you just go to bed

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Joann Claude

“I'm not sure why

I have the inexplainable urge

To tell everyone I come in contact with

That I'm dying”

-a million thoughts all at once after a brief interaction with a customer at work

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.