Poets logo

I Don't Like Sleeping Alone

what sleeping alone feels like

By FindingYourFlowersPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
I Don't Like Sleeping Alone
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

I don't like sleeping alone, your presence is a comfort, a warm blanket for my soul to rest. The beat of your hearrt a ryhthmic melody in your chest, lulls me into a sleep unlike the rest. My heart mimicking the rise and fall as my eyes flutter cose and my own breathing matching your own. I don't like sleeping alone.

The nightmares come in creeping through the cracks in my psyche, am I crazy? I thought i might be, maybe I could do it this time, but I really don't like sleeping alone..

Its always cold and dark when you're gone and not around at the darkest hours of the night, the monsters and creatures grown and the floor boards creak in their lack of space and warmth for my soul cannot contain them.

My light isn't because of you, but you add to it and make it brighter, it dulls when you're away from me, the light goes out. And then I'm devoured whole by the dark, the cold, the monsters and creatures feast on my fears and swallow my essence like a fine wine.

I awake in screams and tears for my own terrors consume me, leaving me unable to breathe, and my lungs fill with the water falling from my eyes, my ears can no longer hear your voice calling my name, my skin numb for I cannot feel your touch, my tongue can no longer taste the love you try to imbue me with. You try and try again, but I'm lost at sea with no oars, and no boat to bring me back.

I'm floating and it feels like falling, I startle awake, and I'm in your arms, you look at me, worry in your gaze, "Are you ok?" you ask, "I'm fine, I'm glad you're here, I don't like sleeping alone."

Mental Health
1

About the Creator

FindingYourFlowers

Hello, I'm 24 years old and an amateur poet, I hope you all like what I write! I also post on Wattpad under Findingyourflowers

I look forward to my time here :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so intense and emotional! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.