Poets logo

I don’t like dinosaurs!

Poemosaurus Rex Challenge

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 23 days ago 1 min read
18
I don’t like dinosaurs!
Photo by Huang Yingone on Unsplash

I can’t stand a single dinosaur!

What?! You’ll make me cry!

I loathe razor sharp claws and their bloodbaths… don’t try to deny

They wrought such violence and gore!

***

No! I don’t like dinosaurs!

Forget T. rex with his disgusting breath…

Changchengopterus happily munched on insects

Way up in treetops high… where they were known to soar.

**

I still don’t like any dinosaur!

How about the Sinornithosaurus which acted so shy?

It sported feathers but the poor thing even couldn’t fly

Please! Spare me your sob story... I’m starting to snore.

**

I don’t like the looks of a dinosaur…

They’re hideously ugly, with skin so lumpy and bumpy

The mere thought makes me oh so grumpy!

But the Stegosaurus' armour plates will impress you, I’m sure.

***

I suppose that sounds cool, for a dinosaur…

Surely Pterodactyls you’ll love… they gracefully cruised the sky

Feasting on insects and fish as they did a fly by.

Oh yeah? They do sound a bit less of a bore.

***

Was there ever a swimming dinosaur?

Well… the Spinosaurus conquered the water

Though it seems fish were what it did slaughter!

Which dinosaur’s next? There’s so many more!

***

Well, I’m sorry to say…

As enjoyable as it’s been…

It’s time for me to quit this dinosaur scene

I’ll have to call it a day.

***

Who’d have thought I’d enjoy dinosaurs!

Not me! That’s for sure!

See what happens when you keep an open mind!

So many fascinating things you might find.

***

For Funfact or fiction
18

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading, especially fiction and poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 😳

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

Painting Pandemonium Top Story February 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming16 days ago

    Great stuff, Angie. Liked the dialogue form too. Worked really well!

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    Love the progression in this from skeptical to curious! Very enjoyable read!

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    I am freaked out by prehistoric varmints, too

  • Randy Baker22 days ago

    Don't tell anyone, but I agree. Dinosaurs are overrated. lol Nice job on this one!

  • Joe Patterson23 days ago

    Tell us how you really feel 🤣

  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    Who doesn't love the great hulking beasts. Just keep them locked in Jurassic park. I love em just fine from afar. I also like rats from afar, I will take dino over a rat everytime. Love the poetry.

  • You saved our friendship with that ending, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani23 days ago

    Such a refreshing take on dinosaurs! Loved the poem.

  • Caroline Craven23 days ago

    You sound like you like dinosaurs to me! Ha! This was great! Nice one!

  • John Cox23 days ago

    Loved your rhythmic and rhyming romp through Jurassic park, Angie! Great fun!

  • Andrea Corwin 23 days ago

    Marvelous!! Rhymes, a clever take on it - I loved it, great job!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.