Poets logo

I don't like dancing in the Rain

A poem dedicated to my newly published novel The Half Paper Moon by Golden Storyline Books

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
The cover art to my novel The Half Paper Moon. Copyright Golden Storyline Books.

You are like Gene Kelly,

You like to dance in the rain.

I’m

Not like that.

I like silence and quiet

I like when we sit side by side,

And hold each other’s hand,

And we comfort ourselves

As I listen to

Your soft singing.

Each day that slides into night,

Like your tap dancing feet,

And your wild ideas,

I seep into your whirling colors,

Colors like magic,

Like the kind of magic only your stories can feed me.

You are soulful and dreamy,

With your soft blue eyes,

When we dance underneath the blue pool,

And sink to the bottom,

Floating up slowly,

I see your dance,

It’s in your smile

Your twinkling eyes,

Supporting me like a warm embrace.

I imagine you as my Gene Kelly,

Taking me onto a crisp Hollywood scene

And I dance with you, quickly yet awkwardly,

To your one of your favorites,

“Singin’ in the Rain”

But in my head,

I’m humming,

“When you are in love… it’s the loveliest night of year,”

Because that’s what I hear when I dance with you.

******

Author note: this poem is about my original characters Connie and Barbara. It is in Connie’s perspective.

The Half Paper Moon is NOW available on Golden Storyline Books! The Kindle is available now on Amazon! The paperback will be here soon as well.

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    gorgeous gorgeous work Melissa! I loved it!

  • I'm soooo happy to read this! It was so nostalgic! Loved this so much!

  • I love both the rain & sitting side by side. Either way, I want to be holding hands.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    A very charming poem Melissa. A terrific job. So are some of these poems in your book, or are these separate and solely inspired by the book?

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.