Poets logo

I Don't Know You

Do I know you?

By Michelle DevonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
You don't know me?

I see you watching me, and every word I write, you read, but I don't know who you are.

You sometimes comment, often vote, tell me how you feel about what I wrote, but I don't know who you are.

I write these words, and while I write for me, I post them here for all to see. People come and people read, some come back, some just leave. There are those I know I touch with words, others read, but their emotions are undisturbed.

But you don't know me.

You assume you do when you read my heart, displayed for all through my emotive words, but in the end, they are only words, and there are many things who make me who I am, and those you will never touch.

To add to this, I don't know your name, and while in the cyber world you are called a 'friend,' I know that we will never meet, and I wouldn't recognize you if you passed me on the street.

Yet, you think you know me well enough to respond to all my posts. You think you see the demons inside, those that haunt me like a ghost, because you read the words I write, when I do feel sad morose.

But you don't know me.

You can say you understand, but you truly don't know who I am, any more than I know you, just from reading about the things you do. Sad to say, but very true, friendships are based on more than this, and while your words can mean so much, they can't replace an honest touch.

I don't mean to take away from all the encouraging things you say, and I want you to know how much your words mean. It's nice to feel shared understanding. However, when the chips are down, if I were to look, would you be around? Your words are all you have to give, when you don't even know where I live!

And I can say this much is true, honestly, I don't know you. I can offer you my comfort, send you virtual hugs and grins, but you too will know that all we can ever be is only cyber friends.

Yet, even though there is much distance across the wires, through the screens and LAN lines, there is something realigning about friendship in these modern times. For even though I know that I may not matter to you tomorrow, you have been there yesterday and shared my joy and sorrow. Even though you do not know me, you still come here and my words you do read.

So I guess that in the end, there's nothing wrong with cyber friends. So feel free to comment when I write, and I'll thank you with much delight, and I will read what you write too, even though I don't really know you

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Michelle Devon

An award-winning author and professional dreamer....Michelle Devon lives on the southern Gulf Coast of Texas with five amazing parrots, and a very tolerant cat. http://michelledevon.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.