Poets logo

I Don't Know This Void

You are dead and I live on.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
I Don't Know This Void
Photo by Kenny Orr on Unsplash

What is in that look you wore?

Je ne sais pas, I don't know.

C'est vide...what is left?

The wind of loss rips you out of me.

But what is left if not you in my soul?

What is left when I have to look back

To see us and were you ever here

Or was it only ever me?

.

You are dead.

And I live on.

.

But this scar on my hand,

The way I grip the echo of you in my mind,

C'est réel. C'est vrai.

It is real to me the way you move and live

In each cell of my soul.

I can feel the silk of you wrap the hurt

In its arms, heal the gap laid bare.

Will you, will I, will we come back from this?

.

You were my star and I some lost moon.

Or were you the pale moon rosy on the line amid

Air and soil and I the sun of day?

Yes, you were my moon and now...

Ma lune est...dead.

You sunk into the dirt, wood cage to keep you safe.

But this love can't die, can't fail or fall or rot.

.

I made a home in the grey haze

Atop the rock with your name.

This love is a vast sort of love that runs

As far as the sky, as deep as the seas.

I will turn to bone with the tree that rots

But I have made my home by you and I will stay

Till time has run out at last.

.

Nathalie Daux

.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Carol Daux6 months ago

    "The wind of loss rips you out of me"...visceral, blinding with a poignancy that rings true throughout. Cela touche le vrai centre du coeur...

  • Test11 months ago

    Sad, poignant, evocative, and so so lovely. You’ve woven a beautiful thread of emotions here, Silver Serpent, and I love this poem 💕🙂

  • John K12 months ago

    This flows so well, the timing is wonderful!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Beautiful poetry! The flow of English punctuated by French was captivating. 💜👏💜

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    You are haunting my head with this one. Great work!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.