Poets logo

I don't have melanoma!

News update from today

By Maureen Y. PalmerPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
4
I don't have melanoma!
Photo by Madison Oren on Unsplash

Good news-- I don't have melanoma!

Got the call today.

The suspicious mole is actually just a "moderate to severe atypical mole" (exact quote).

Basically (I think) 'pre-melanoma':

Mutated,

NOT cancer yet,

more likely to become cancer later.

No worries!

Just one more appointment:

check it,

possibly excise more tissue;

make sure it's really gone!

~~~

(Note: this is an actual life update from me. I just formatted it as a poem for fun. Let me know if you have any questions.)

~~~

(P.S. My next post will be the one I promised about Parker Pyne Investigates & my thoughts on short story collections. Sorry if anyone has been impatiently waiting!! I got slightly derailed by a sudden bolt of weird inspiration and then this update post, but I'll be back to the plan after this! :) ) [update: here it is!]

fact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Maureen Y. Palmer

Reading • Writing • Murder!

I'm an avid reader and aspiring author, currently working on my first mystery novel. Here, I write essays about reading and writing, as well as short mystery/thriller/horror fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    I’m glad you’re okay. ❤️

  • Test7 months ago

    Very relatable! Well written!

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    I subscribe, I am glad it is not but always go to get it check 🥰

  • Well, hopefully it doesn't become cancer, ever! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.