Journal logo

My Vocal Media "Editorial Calendar"

Here's the plan for my upcoming stories!

By Maureen Y. PalmerPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
7
My Vocal Media "Editorial Calendar"
Photo by Eric Rothermel on Unsplash

My first few days on Vocal Media were euphorically frenetic. Incredibly excited after making my decision to finally DO THIS!, I poured out three posts in three days and basically couldn’t stop myself from spending all day writing. Also, my mind was simply bursting with more post ideas, which I wrote down in an unorganized fashion on a notepad and multiple random pieces of paper.

After this, I felt like I needed to take a break for a couple days so I could actually get organized and strategic about this. I needed a way to organize my ideas and plan when to write and post them.

Enter: The plan! I grandiosely call this my editorial calendar.

The planner and notebook I'm using for my "editorial calendar" :). (Photo by me.)

I chose to organize my notes in this mini notebook/binder because I want to be able to move pages around easily yet don't want or need something as large as a normal binder. In this mini binder, I have a section of overall notes followed by a section of monthly planning pages.

Here's an example from the overall notes section: the list of communities I expect to post in often:

List of communities I expect to usually post in (BookClub, Journal, Motivation, Psyche, Writers, and (sometimes) Longevity). (Photo by me.)

Monthly Planning

This has been the most important part of my process.

First, I decided what I want to post in each month. For example, there are some things I want to post ASAP, some NaNoWriMo-themed things to post in November, and some New Year-themed things to post in January.

Then, I had to decide on the order. I've based this on a variety of factors including challenge deadlines, my own schedule, and maintaining a balance of content. The three main topics for my "blog" here are reading, writing, and life (mostly in the realms of mental health, career, and motivational content), so I want to make sure that I have a good balance of posts about each of these topics in my writing schedule. I especially want to make sure I consistently post about reading, novel writing, and inspiration/motivation.

Here is the list of September post topics after I decided on my posting order for this month:

My September story planning page. The main text points are my planned Vocal Media posts (some of the planned post descriptions are blurred for secrecy :)). The column of green letters toward the left indicates the general topic of each planned post (Reading, Vocal media, Noveling, Mental health, Inspirational content, etc). The circled numbers indicate the planned posting order. (Photo by me.)

And here is how I have scheduled the content plan into my calendar:

Calendar showing how I schedule my content. I have noted challenge deadlines (light blue ink) and have assigned all of my September post topics to weeks (2 posts per week, in the left grey boxes). After I publish each post, I will also note the publication date (as you can see for my two posts on September 2). (Photo by me.)

I have now planned out all of my post topics for September, almost all of my topics for October and November, and more seasonally themed posts for up to 1 year from now. I also have a Word document of many other, unscheduled ideas to potentially write about at some time in the future. My plan is to post 2 times per week, other than breaks for holidays. I hope you'll enjoy! :)

By Surface on Unsplash

Stay tuned for my next two posts, which will be an entry in the “First Thing I Ever Wrote” challenge and a review of Parker Pyne Investigates by Agatha Christie combined with my thoughts on short story collections. [update: here is my First Piece I Ever Wrote entry and here is my piece about Parker Pyne and short stories.]

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

How do you plan your Vocal Media posts or other writing/content? Or, do you prefer to keep it unplanned and wait for inspiration to strike? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below! :)

Also, I'm definitely not short of ideas, but I am always open to more. Let me know if you have any story ideas you'd like me to add to my calendar!

P.S. On Tuesday (2 days ago), I got a biopsy done on a suspicious mole on my foot, so there’s a chance that the biopsy results will end up derailing these plans (hopefully not!!!), but I’ll keep you updated. (The doctor said it may take up to 10 business days to get results.) [edit: see update here]

workflow
7

About the Creator

Maureen Y. Palmer

Reading • Writing • Murder!

I'm an avid reader and aspiring author, currently working on my first mystery novel. Here, I write essays about reading and writing, as well as short mystery/thriller/horror fiction.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    I tend to plan things in my head, for better or worse. I plan to write 2-4 pieces per day, but many of these are poems. Then I find inspiration and get to work. Sometimes, this can take all day. Great work!!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Being organized will take you far! Good job!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Oh no, I hope the biopsy comes back ok! 😢. Great organization here!! 🤯

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    You are so much more organised than me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.