Poets logo

I don't feel well.

.

By satine labellePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
I don't feel well.
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I am sick,

Someone asks “Is it the big one” I am sure they jest, but also a valid concern.

How could it be? I have not left my house, but twice in 7 weeks. Ordered groceries, only necessities, I left for a dentist appointment twice.

Both times - mask, hand sanitizer, soap. Argued with them about how my trays could have been shipped, grimaced when the woman at the front desk said they would open by May 1st.

I talk to a nurse online, call an urgent care. “Don’t come in, stay home see how you feel in a week or if you have fevers call back.” “Isolate yourself and drink fluids,” says the google quiz that populates when I search my symptoms. Thank god I didn't throw away the lidocaine from who knows when. Don’t judge, the pain is unbearable.

How bad is a fever 99, 101, 102? I was told I was safe if it fluctuated call back when it was consistent. “Call your primary healthcare provider.” Who has one of those? I have whoever my job lets me have, when I don’t have a job whoever the state lets me have…..if they let me have.

If I had a healthcare provider I would have them fill my Butalbital; I only have 6 left. I count all my pills. How many can I skip? Could I cut them in half, would it help?

I have slept off and on for days even if I didn’t know the day I could tell by my plants.They droop delicately. I hope they will be fine, I felt good enough to water them today. To write this today. I see the news, people dying and things opening. I want to go back to sleep and pretend it is all a nightmare. I didn’t take my PTSD medication is all. I counted wrong. I will wake up shortly. Just a nightmare….though this one has been the worst by far.

But it's all still here when I wake up.

I still don’t feel very well, but I am still here.

That counts for something.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

satine labelle

Satine is an artist and writer who loves poetry, anime, video games, and pastel colors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.