Poets logo

I don't carry a purse

just a back pack and a taser

By AbbieDrewPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I don't carry a purse
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Ask me what's in my bag; I will tell you every self defense tool I have been taught to carry by those before me to fight the men who follow us at night.

-This isn't the original poem. The original one can be found on my Instagram @AbbieDrewPoetry. Something I am trying to challenge myself is to write with more inclusion. I identify as Queer, so I would like to make sure anyone reading feels included. I may share some poetry of mine still embracing femininity, that's because I still connect to that part of me. This poem was written because I am exhausted of walking in fear of what's behind me. I am tired of the men who follow us and do not consider anything but their own fucking needs. It's gross. Please; stop.

Please like, subscribe and share.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

AbbieDrew

In a world that feels so dark creating content in any form is my way of surviving through it. I felt voiceless for years, this is my place to feel loud. AbbieDrewPoetry on instagram! Please subscribe!! Any tips truly are a gift! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.