Poets logo

I Don't Believe In Love At First Sight

A poem about cynicism, love, and the stage

By Vicki GloverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Don't Believe In Love At First Sight
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I don't believe in love at first sight.

I mean, sure, there's a chance that I might

Have seen you across the room and wondered, "Who's that?"

As I was running lines and trying my hat

While finding my costume that night.

I don't believe in love at first sight

So I don't believe there's a chance that I might

Have seen you and just thought, "Oh, there you are,"

Like something inside me knew you from afar

While finding my costume that night.

I don't believe in love at first sight

So I find it odd there's a chance that I might

Have known you're the one I'd been searching for

Without knowing that something was missing before

While finding my costume that night.

And now we're together and have been for years

Sharing the journey, the laughs and the tears

And it's almost impossible not to think that I might...

But I don't believe in love at first sight.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Vicki Glover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.