Poets logo

I Didn't Mean To Be Unkind

Do you mind?

By Adam EvansonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
I Didn't Mean To Be Unkind
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

What if I were you and you were I?

Do you think we could ever see eye to eye?

Would you make me laugh would I make you cry?

Or could we help each other to fly?

Take to the wind

Fly so high

To the clouds pinned

In a deep blue sky

Do you think we could do it?

Could we make it fly?

You never know, we could give it a try.

Looking down at the trouble and strife

Every man has with his ever-loving wife

It’s no way to live, it’s no kind of life.

Looking down at all the trouble and pain

Every woman has with her husband, again

It’s no way to live, apportioning blame.

Let’s change places, show different faces

Let’s try to see each other’s point of view.

Let’s change places and whatever dare face us

It’s us against the world, just me and you.

I think it’ll fly, it’s worth a try

Don’t you think?

Come what may whatever which way

Don’t you ever forget I’m here to stay

Oh, and by the way, it slipped my mind,

I didn’t really mean to be unkind

I simply forgot to kiss you and say,

I love you.

Do you mind?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    Beautiful Ralph ❤️✨🕊️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.