Poets logo

I dare not

dare you

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
I dare not
Photo by Dare Artworks on Unsplash

I dare not dare you to wonder if your decision was right

I dare not dare you to admit your slights

I dare not to inquire your preferences

As I dare not inquire to your dislikes

I dare not invite your disapproval

Such things keep me up at night

I dare not question your motives

As I dare not seek confirmation of your alibis

I dare not ask what you think

Answers I fear would leave me wondering why

I dare not call for your attention

I dare not look in your eyes

I dare not seek to validate my feelings

I believe such attempts would be unwise

I dare not ask you to try again

I dare not ask you to leave the arms of him

But I dare not pretend I feel nothing

I dare not

Thank you for taking the time to read "I dare not." If you have time, please check out Panes of Glass below, which was featured as a Top Story.

https://vocal.media/poets/panes-of-glass

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.