Poets logo

I Come From...

(A Poem about where I've been... and the changes I'm making)

By Orion BradshawPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
I Come From...
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

I COME FROM…

I come from where the hills meet the plains

Plain Janes and mud stains

On the torn knees

Of loose-fitting blue jeans,

Only girls wear ‘em tight.

Bumps in the road

Making old American-made trucks

Bounce to and fro,

Toads and wet sprockets croaking

In the semi-damp dry twilight.

I come from schoolyard fights that meant nothing

Bullying making man-boys more “masculine”

If the skin ain’t scuffed,

Then I ain’t using it right.

I come from love, lasting forever

Four walls and a roof consistently,

From tornado country to

Lands where volcanoes live.

Student of the privileged class,

Studying what my whiteness implies.

Shaken awake - second wind coming

In the middle of the night.

Blue flame questions

Burning white hot

When nobody’s watching,

Because that’s where

My most honest Work manifests.

I come from having the answer

Or avoiding it entirely

A man in the mirror, making changes…

Because “even a genius asks questions”,

And so maybe just maybe

My Questions will be what define me

When I’m gone -

Not merely my answers.

I am a Storyteller every single day

No if’s, and’s or but’s about it

A living breathing document,

Forever unfinished.

I breathe in the present, and

Breathe out the future

Because I am…

In process.

***

~OB.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Orion Bradshaw

(M.A.T. / AEA) I am a Teacher & a student of Life. I am a Storyteller every single day & a Facilitator of Equity Justice principles. Constantly curious, ever seeking, attempting to lean into my fears. May the Learning never cease...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Orion BradshawWritten by Orion Bradshaw

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.