Poets logo

I cannot believe I still love you

My favorite song is you

By Jake TrammellPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
1
I cannot believe I still love you
Photo by Marius Masalar on Unsplash

Our songs play on repeat, whether I want them to or not is up for debate. I listen to each word, every note, basking in the memories of us singing them together. Or you squeezing my hand just a bit tighter. And I sit with a smile, molded to the shape of the days of you.

I ask for a sign, and your favorite song plays. The aches have passed. I stand again, on my own, with my back straight just like you taught me. I climb mountains, surpassing my fears just like you showed. Taking new steps in directions I never thought possible for me, just as you said I could.

I pray to a god I am not sure is there, wondering where you are. Musing on whether you found your peace, or if the search is still on. Curiosity always got the better of me, yet; my hands can never reach you. Though the embrace of a divinity seems to hold them tight. My favorite song rips me right back to my mortal coil.

I stare at the sky, looking for the star with my name upon it. You gave to me that gift, granted me a piece of the only divine I truly know. Each passing night, my heart grows towards the light of the stars. A song entangles my bones, grounding my form to the earth. Are you looking at the same sky as I?

Your favorite songs play on repeat, I’m not sure I meant for that to happen. I sing all the words, hoping to fill the gap that your voice should fill. I hum the tune. What should I do with this gift you’ve left for me? Your favorite songs have made a home within me, and my favorite song is your voice; a melody I haven’t heard in some time. Life is too short to not hear that sound once more.

Life is strange without your tune. That lovely song. The beautiful harmony. I thought I was moving on from that chorus, what I wouldn’t do to hear it again. I cannot believe I still love you

love poemsheartbreakFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Jake Trammell

I write things I could never speak aloud. Usually in the form of poetry or short stories. One day I’d like to write a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.