Poets logo

I Can Be Like Water

just like a sparkling stream

By Bugsy WattsPublished about a year ago • 1 min read
5
I Can Be Like Water
Photo by Akira Hojo on Unsplash

I've tumbled over concepts

all too frequently,

about constituents that make a person

all that they can be.

*

Were we stamped in the womb

with our genetic code,

planned for a singular purpose

only living could make known?

*

Looking at the water

as it washed over my feet,

I deduced beliefs could complicate

the truths we all could meet.

*

Water never settled

in one consistent state,

it moved and flowed and bent itself

in rivers, creeks, and straits.

*

Water stretches to oceans

makes homes for whales and fish,

answers the moon in changing tides

like an 11:11 wish.

*

Water gathers across the sky

in cumulonimbus clouds,

drifting in dreamy shapes

or clapping thunder loud.

*

Water falls down softly

to nourish plants with sodden soil,

it fills our cups on cold days

when the kettle sings its boil.

*

Water settles on winter streets

in blankets of sparkling snow,

it forms itself in angels and men

at less than 25 below.

*

Water crackles under blades

as they carve the icy lake,

it opens spots into its depths

to simply jolt you awake.

*

Water transforms its existence

from frozen to flowing to steam,

but I know that it's still water

because it winks and it gleams.

*

I can follow what I'm meant for

be told all that I can be,

or I can be like water

it's all up to me.

performance poetrynature poetryart
5

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Wilcox8 months ago

    Deep and insightful, I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    I love your style Bugsy 🩷

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Beautiful and filled with such emotion and movement.

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Nice poem!😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.