Poets logo

I Burn

Age and Passing Life

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
I Burn
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Fiery flames lick the base,

of all the loves in outer space.

The sun it spin in endless rounds,

Spelling doom for those on ground.

By Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Time it is the greatest thief,

Of life and joy, it turns to grief.

Weeping in the dark of night.

As skin gets dry and you lose sight.

By Micaela Parente on Unsplash

Can any love these aging hands?

Turned to dust like desert sands.

Can any love these darkened eyes?

Or will it be forever I?

By Augustine Wong on Unsplash

You haunt my each and every turn,

Making my heart ache and burn.

Shadowy creatures of the long gone past,

You take away the joy that lasts.

By Freya Ingva on Unsplash

Remember me Hera, whom I have served,

From youthful times your favor earned.

I feel afraid of the lonely nights,

Where aging eyes can't have sight.

When all the lights have gone with day,

None can love me, here, this way.

I'll always love you, Queen of the Skies,

For you are strong and never lie.

By Danist Soh on Unsplash

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Another beautiful piece, bravo!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You have such beautiful way with words.

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    Food for thought.... Well done :)

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I love the rhythm of your verse, and the strength as it builds in this piece. :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. That gorgeous. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.