Poets logo

I Belong Alive

Read between the lines...

By L. Tori MattisonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
A march on Juneteenth, 2020; photo taken by L. Tori Mattison

Many, many lines along these ashen arms of mine

Written in deep pain, in red, in the dead of night

Have so much in between them--

My history between them,

My brown skin in between them,

My skin I once despised--

Are nothing if not a diary of every tear I cried,

Are whispers that still tell me

That I belong alive.

So many, many lines along these Southern roads I ride,

Written in deep pain, hatred, in the dead of night

Have so much in between them--

Hanging trees that reach between them,

Angry mobs screaming between them,

Those who unjustly died--

Are time capsules holding such a tragic history inside,

Still, my ancestors tell me

That I belong alive.

I joined the many, many lines that marched, holding high our signs

Trudging through deep pain, our dread, taking on the night.

There's so much in between us--

Heritage of hope between us,

Sharing stories told between us,

Standing proudly, side by side--

We're standing on the mountains our ancestors have climbed,

And we tell this world our place--

We belong alive.

Marches, months, movements all end,

But spirits never die,

And so tonight I tell myself

That I belong alive.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

L. Tori Mattison

I have a passion for the representation of characters with different cultures, backgrounds, interests and disabilities. My main inspiration is the spectrum of the human experience and the complicated nature and beauty of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.