Poets logo

I am your gift

You can’t buy me from any supermarket aisle

By Daniel HooksPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
I am your gift

I am your gift.

Gifted to you

not in the greatest wrapping paper

but I am person you can savour

not aesthetically pleasing always to the eye

but to you I would never lie

I speak the truth

I can make you smile

all the while

you can’t buy me from any supermarket aisle

I am your gift

you can’t find me under a tree

I am too big

I am messy but no stig of the dump

I work hard for you walking in trainers my pumps

I am your gift

remember me when your having a bad day

I will come round and lighten your sadness as much as I can, ok?

for I am a friend the greatest gift of all

is when you and I rise and walk tall.

artperformance poetryHoliday
4

About the Creator

Daniel Hooks

A poet, activist and story teller who currently battles with a severe mental health problem.

Facebook Alienpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Awww, this was just so wonderful! Anyone would be lucky to have you in their life!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Good one Daniel. Reading your fun poem was a mini gift in itself! 🎁 Thank you! 😁

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Nice! Apt poem for the season of giving :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.