Poets logo

I Am Waiting

the Age of Anxiety to drop dead

By Bishnu Kumar Published 2 months ago 2 min read
1
I Am Waiting
Photo by Maxence Pira on Unsplash

I am waiting for my case to come up. 

and I am waiting.

for a rebirth of wonder

and I am waiting for someone.

to really discover America

and wail

and I am waiting. 

for the discovery.

of a new symbolic western frontier 

and I am waiting. 

for the American Eagle

to really spread its wings.

and straighten up and fly right.

and I am waiting.

for the Age of Anxiety

to drop dead.

and I am waiting.

for the war to be fought.

which will make the world safe.

for anarchy

and I am waiting.

for the final withering away.

of all governments

and I am perpetually awaiting

a rebirth of wonder

 

I am waiting for the Second Coming. 

and I am waiting.

for a religious revival

to sweep through the state of Arizona. 

and I am waiting.

for the Grapes of Wrath to be stored 

and I am waiting.

for them to prove

that God is really American

and I am waiting.

to see God on television

piped onto church altars

if only they could find 

the right channel. 

to tune in on

and I am waiting.

for the last supper to be served again.

with a strange new appetizer

and I am perpetually awaiting

a rebirth of wonder

 

I am waiting for my number to be called.

and I am waiting.

for the Salvation Army to take over.

and I am waiting.

for the meek to be blessed

and inherit the earth. 

without taxes

and I am waiting.

for forests and animals

to reclaim the earth as theirs.

and I am waiting.

for a way to be devised

to destroy all nationalisms

without killing any body.

and I am waiting.

for linnets and planets to fall like rain

and I am waiting for lovers and weepers.

to lie down together again.

in a new rebirth of wonder

 

I am waiting for the Great Divide to be crossed. 

and I am anxiously waiting.

for the secret of eternal life to be discovered. 

by an obscure general practitioner

and I am waiting.

for the storms of life.

to be over.

and I am waiting.

to set sail for happiness.

and I am waiting.

for a reconstructed Mayflower

to reach America

with its picture story and TV rights

sold in advance to the natives

and I am waiting.

for the lost music to sound again.

in the Lost Continent

in a new rebirth of wonder

 

I am waiting for the day.

that makes all things clear.

and I am awaiting retribution.

for what America did 

to Tom Sawyer 

and I am waiting.

for Alice in Wonderland

to retransmit to me

Her total dream of innocence

and I am waiting.

for Childe Roland to come

to the final darkest tower

and I am waiting. 

for Aphrodite

to grow live arms

at a final disarmament conference

in a new rebirth of wonder

 

I am waiting.

to get some intimations

of immortality

by recollecting my early childhood

and I am waiting.

for the green mornings to come again. 

Youth’s dumb green fields come back again.

and I am waiting.

for some strains of unpremeditated art

to shake my typewriter

and I am waiting to write.

the great, indelible poem

and I am waiting.

for the last long, careless rapture

and I am perpetually waiting.

for the fleeing lovers on the Grecian Urn 

to catch each other up at last.

and embrace

and I am awaiting 

perpetually and forever

a renaissance of wonder.

Next Story

slam poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Bishnu Kumar

“I am now ready to create captivating fantasy stories.”ex- poet,fiction

By the way, you can comment on what kind of story you want to read. I will try to fulfill your needs.

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.