Poets logo

I Am The World

Your Mother Forever

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Hold you so, in my arms while I rock you

Grow and grow, time takes me from you

The more you know, the less that you need me

The taller you get, you no longer see me

I wear my tiara, in closets and cry

While you stare at your phone, scream and walk by

I no longer know you, where have you gone?

Before too long, you will really be gone.

The costumes I wear for tireless service

The cook, the taxi, the diaper service

The doctor, the teacher, best friend when you’re down

The martyr, the preacher when my foot must come down

You may not know it, never aware

I will love you forever, with all my grey hair

I will praise you and cheer you alone with a smile

Because I am your mother, for more than a while.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.