Poets logo

I Am the Thing

You are never alone.

By Helen SederPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
22
I Am the Thing
Photo by Portuguese Gravity on Unsplash

I am the thing that lurks in your home

What you hope not to see when you look in the mirror

I am all sinew and gristle, blood and bone

You feel me linger when you’re all alone

I never go far but I never get nearer

I am the thing that crawls in your home

You never will see me, if you refuse to be shone

Hold close your loved ones, and those you hold dearer

I am sinew and gristle, blood drenched bone

You thought you’d forget me once you were grown

But now that you’re older you sense me much clearer

I am the thing that writhes in your home

Breathe in your last of heady burial loam

I am your fate, no matter what path down you veer

I am all gristle and sinew, your sun bleached bone

Listen, what’s that sound? That deafening drone?

You can taste it now, the palpable fear here.

I am the thing that lurks in your home

Sinewed, and gristled, and all bloodied bone

Villanelle
22

About the Creator

Helen Seder

Art doesn’t need to be “good.” It just needs to be.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Daux5 months ago

    Beautifully creepy. Don't look under the bed.....this is fear personified.

  • Chloe Gilholy5 months ago

    creepy and brilliant

  • Catsidhe5 months ago

    Wonderfully creepy! Well done!

  • J.P. Williamson5 months ago

    Creepy, but also oddly beautiful. Well done!

  • Test5 months ago

    Marvelous work! Keep it going—congrats!

  • Excellent poem

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    There is something about a villanelle that draws darkness out. This capitalises on this nature really well. It builds like all good horrors should. Well done!

  • Oooo, I loveeeeee how dark this was! Awesome Villanelle! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    Ooo, I really liked the dark voice in this poem. Congrats!

  • Antoinette L Brey5 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Monster in the closet. Our dark side hidden where we sunk it real deep. It comes, it stays. It is really us dep, deep down. Lovely poem. Congrats.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.