Poets logo

I Am the She

an unintentional warrior

By Diane FrickPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
I Am the She
Photo by Molly Blackbird on Unsplash

I am the she who has seen darkness.

I am the she who has looked evil in the eye.

I am the she who has felt its immense power.

I was unready.

I was naïve.

I was sheltered.

So, when I first picked up my sword, it was heavy

And I dropped it.

Evil laughed at me and took a stab.

It was amused with me.

As blood trickled from my wound,

The fear inside me grew.

And when I picked up my sword again, it was cumbersome

And I fumbled it.

Evil laughed at me and took a stab.

It was annoyed with me.

As blood sprinkled from my wound,

The anger inside me grew.

When I picked up my sword, it was burdensome

And I struggled with it.

Evil laughed at me and took a stab.

It was furious with me.

As blood dripped from my wound,

The hatred inside me grew.

When I picked up my sword, it was awkward

And I couldn’t adjust.

Evil laughed at me and took a stab.

It was loathing me.

As blood wept from my wound

Something inside me spoke.

I closed my eyes.

I dispelled my fear.

I dispelled my anger.

I dispelled my hate.

I replaced it with calmness.

I replaced it with contentment

I replaced it with peace.

The power inside me grew.

When I picked up my sword, it felt at home in my hand

And I wielded it.

Evil didn’t laugh at me

And I took a stab.

It had underestimated me.

As blood gushed from its wound,

The fear inside it grew.

I am the SHE you were warned about:

The unintentional warrior,

Not born but made,

Forged by the fires of Hell

And hardened by the endowments of Heaven.

I am the she who has seen darkness.

I am the she who has looked evil in the eye.

I am the she who has felt MY immense power.

I am the SHE.

inspirationalhealing
Like

About the Creator

Diane Frick

Hi! my name is Diane and I started writing poetry in fourth grade. I had a notebook of poems that got lost somewhere along the way, but I still love to write today. I hope you enjoy the thoughts from my insanity!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.