Poets logo

I am the Sea

A day at the beach

By Dawn SaloisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
17

I step out of my truck and smell the salty sea air

I feel the sun’s powerful rays warming my skin as I’m caressed by the light ocean breeze

My feet sink into the soft sand as I walk toward the water

I am met by the sun glistening off the water like a sea of floating sapphires

My first step into the cool water is shocking, but exhilarating

The gentle roar of the ocean murmurs in my ear as I walk along the shore

Golden flecks in the sand sparkle in the sunlight

The sun’s rays paint a pattern on the sand, broken up by the ripples on the water

I allow the healing power of the water to wash over and renew me

I am one with nature as I walk gently through the shallow water

Careful to avoid stepping on sand dollars, starfish and stingrays

I am a guest in their home

When I finish my walk I sit on the sand and watch the waves move slowly toward the shore

I sit in silence and allow myself to see, feel, and listen

In this place all is at peace

nature poetry
17

About the Creator

Dawn Salois

Mother of a wonderful son. Writing is a relatively new passion of mine. I love to create my own images. Self-published author of Shadow and Flame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.