Poets logo

I Am Still Here

After the Parade

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
I Am Still Here
Photo by Olena Kamenetska on Unsplash

After the parade,

when all the flags have been taken down,

and the rainbow logos have disappeared,

I am still here.

I am still here,

walking over the faded rainbow crosswalks

on my way to my local comic shop

to pick up the books that I will spend

hours talking to my partner about

on a phone call we can't seem to let end.

I am still here,

shamelessly flirting with my friends

as we watch movies and play roleplaying games together,

finding ways to tell the stories we wished

we'd had years ago.

I am still here,

coating my canvas in shades of

pink, purple and blue

during a painting night with my roommate.

I am still here,

happy and proud,

knowing that I found myself,

and found my place,

when I found my people.

love poems

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Lana V Lynxabout a year ago

    Thank you for pouring your heart out. You bring beauty to the world.

  • Sarah w2 years ago

    Yes! I feel this is much! And you found the words my friend! Thank you and continue to be you!

Kelsey ClareyWritten by Kelsey Clarey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.