Poets logo

I am Sorry

am I though?

By Adair SigurdsonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
I am Sorry
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

I’m sorry that I loved you,

And trusted, yeah I did that too,

I’m sorry I wanted to change you,

And I even wished that you were a better man,

I wanted to believe your lies were really true,

But you ended up just another stained tally mark,

Now everything inside me went and got dark,

I'm sorry you met my expectations,

‘cause just like every other man you left too,

And I’m sorry I always wanted it to be you,

Nothing else left, I gave you everything,

But why did I let you take it from me too,

And I’m so sorry that I made it so easy to leave,

But I’m even sorrier it will be harder to forget me,

And I'm sorry we both changed,

But I changed to make things better for us,

And when you failed your love went estrange,

I'm sorry I didn't mean to put your love under pressure,

Just thought we'd make diamonds to put in our treasure,

And I am so sorry to you,

But I'm even sorrier to me too.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Adair Sigurdson

Adair is currently working on the Manifestation Diaries, a fictional short story series with more poetry to come. Stay tuned!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.